WDMA Applauds Congressional Letter to EPA

May 13, 2011

The Window and Door Manufacturers Association is commending Rep. Bob Latta (R-Ohio) and a bipartisan group of 22 other members of the U.S. House of Representatives for urging EPA Administrator Lisa Jackson to halt plans to expand its lead paint rules to include "clearance testing" requirements and extend coverage to commercial and public buildings. In a May 10 letter to Jackson, the House members state the agency is exceeding its authority in these actions and are highly critical of EPA's poor implementation of the current rule, including a continuing lack of accurate lead test kits.

"Following EPA's flawed implementation of the original rule last year that resulted in too few certified contractors, lack of training opportunities, poor consumer education and inaccurate lead test kits, the agency went on to remove a provision of the rule to allow consumers to opt-out of the rule if there were no pregnant women or children under six present in pre-1978 housing, effectively increasing the number of homes subject to the rule from 38 million to 79 million," the letter states. "Now, EPA is undertaking two more regulatory actions to expand the scope and compliance requirements of the LRRP well beyond the scope and intent of the original rule."

"WDMA commends Congressman Latta and the other members of Congress for their leadership on this issue. They understand the negative impact that the EPA Lead Rule is having on the window, door and skylight replacement market," says WDMA President Michael O'Brien. "As with the previous Senate letters on this issue, WDMA and its members spent a great deal of time contacting members of Congress to educate them about how clearance testing and expansion to commercial construction will further discourage needed energy efficiency improvements, subject consumers to unnecessary costs and turn renovators into abatement contractors."

Latta, a member of the House Energy and Commerce Committee which has oversight of EPA, was joined on the letter by Reps. Austin Scott (R-Ga.), Tom Latham (R-Iowa), Leonard Boswell (D-Iowa), Dan Burton (R-Ind.), Steve LaTourette (R-Ohio), Jean Schmidt (R-Ohio), Collin Peterson (D-Minn.), John Kline (R-Minn.), Denny Rehberg (R-Mont.), Kenny Marchant (R-Texas), Louie Gohmert (R-Texas), Lynn Westmoreland (R-Ga.), Jeff Flake (R-Ariz.), Larry Buchson (R-Ind.), Steve Womack (R-Ark.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Mike Simpson (R-Idaho), Rick Berg (R-N.D.), Mick Mulvaney (R-S.C.), John Sullivan (R-Okla.), Adrian Smith (R-Neb.) and Michele Bachmann (R-Minn.).