Iowa Governor Recognizes Pella eCycling Efforts

August 8, 2011

Pella Corp., in partnership with Vermeer Manufacturing and the City of Pella, earned a Governor’s Iowa Environmental Excellence Award in the waste management category for its annual electronic recycling event held in hometown each Earth Day.

 More than three semi truckloads of electronics gathered were gathered at Pella's last eCycling day.

“On behalf of all Iowans, I would like to congratulate these organizations for their leadership and innovation in protecting Iowa’s natural resources,” said Gov. Terry E. Branstad in a released statement. “These awards serve as a small token of appreciation for their commitment to preserve Iowa’s precious natural resources for future generations of Iowans to enjoy.”

Since 2005, Pella has sponsored annual electronics recycling events to encourage team members and local residents to safely recycle obsolete electronics. The annual April eCycling event honors Earth Day, and has expanded to include five communities in Iowa and Illinois where the window and door manufacturer has plants

“Our event educates consumers about the importance of properly recycling electronics and provides them with easy ways to recycle their obsolete products, like cell phones, computer monitors, TVs, keyboards and other unused electronics,” explains Don Argo, Pella’s recycling champion.

In 2011, more than 630 homes participated in eCycling events—bringing nearly 2,400 items to be recycled. Televisions were the most popular item recycled, followed by personal computers and monitors. 

Since the first eCycling event, more than 155 tons of electronics have been diverted from landfills and safely recycled, the manufacturer reports.

“Pella Corp. is proud to be recognized as an environmental leader by Gov. Branstad and we’re proud of our long-time history of recycling obsolete electronics as well as by-products from our manufacturing process,” Argo says.

The window and door maker was one of 20 Iowa organizations and businesses to receive an award, which recognizes comprehensive environmental programs as well as special project awards in water quality, air quality, waste management, habitat restoration and development, energy efficiency and renewable energy, and environmental education.