CWDMA Elects New Officers, Honors Krahn

June 26, 2009

The Canadian Window & Door Manufacturers Association elected new officers at its annual general meeting held in June at the Rodd Brudenell River Resort in Prince Edward Island. Kevin Pelley of  Kohltech International in Debert N.S., was elected as president, succeeding Eva Ryterband, Screenco Manufacturing, Concord, Ont., who now serves the organization as past president and treasurer.

Yvan Houle from Portes et Fenetres Président in Longueuil, Que., is first VP and Dave Hiebert, Lynden Door Canada, Chilliwack, B.C., joins the CWDMA board as the new second VP. Also newly elected to the board was Micheal Andrade of Gienow Windows & Doors, Calgary, Alta.

The June meeting also saw the presentation of CWDMA's annual CP Loewen Award to Jim Krahn of Marvin Windows. He was acknowledged for his involvement in code and standards related activities over the past 30 years, including roles with the Window & Door Manufacturers Assocation and the National Fenestration Rating Council. Additionally, the association recognized Krahn's efforts as a veteran and supporter of the harmonization of North American fenestration standards, exemplary work on energy efficiency issues and work on various CSA standards committees. "Jim not only represents his firm’s interests to various technical bodies, but also the industry’s position to the world beyond. Jim has worked tirelessly to serve these numerous organizations," his citation read.