Fenestration Canada Hosts Busy Summer Meeting

June 26, 2012

Code activity and internet marketing were major topics at the annual meeting of Fenestration Canada, held earlier in June at the Fairmont Château Montebello in Montebello, Quebec. The event also saw the election of new board members and the naming of the former Canadian Window & Door Manufacturers Association's annual C.P. Loewen Award.

Jeff Baker, Fenestration Canada’s technical consultant, reviewed the latest issues involving codes and standards emerging across Canada. J.F. Kogovsek of Maxam Marketing.com also reviewed Fenestration Canada’s efforts to inform building and code officials about practical issues stakeholders have in dealing with codes related to windows, doors and skylights. The presentation also provided an overview of the North American Fenestration Standard and how performance requirements for fenestration products are determined.

Also on the agenda was Tracy Rogers of Quanex Engineered Products Group, who offered an update on green-related activities in North America.  Richard Louttet of the Canadian Standards Association also provided an update on that organization's efforts to create a Fenestration Installation Technician personnel certification program.

The feature presentation at the meeting was given by Scott Wilson, president of RankHigher.Ca. The lack of an effective web marketing strategy by many Canadian companies has been cited as a problem that, unless reversed, will mean a widening gap in lost Internet sales in the years ahead, he told attendees.

The meeting saw the election of three new members to the Fenestration Canada–Caroline Dallaire of P.H. Tech, Greg Dickie of Atlantic Windows and Matt Kottke of Truth Hardware. They join Morgan Hanam, Enermodal Engineering; Michel Bastarache, Dan Darcy Associates; Robert Jutras, Air-Ins Inc.; Michael Andrade, Gienow Windows & Doors; Mike McAndrew, Cardinal Glass; Benoit Legault, Marvin Windows; Rainey Reid, All Weather Windows; Lisa Bergeron, Jeld-Wen; Allan Doyle, Global Windows; George Warren, Centennial Windows; Jean Marois Royal Building Products; and Pierre Perreault, Servitek.

Continuing as Fenestration Canada's officers this year are Yvan Houle of Portes et Fenêtres Président as president; Skip MacLean of Tru Tech Doors as first vice president; Al Dueck of Duxton Windows as second vice president, Kevin Pelley of Kohltech International as past president and Eva Ryterband of Screenco Manufacturing Ltd. as treasurer. 

Honored with the C.P. Loewen Award this year was Jean-Louis Tourikian of Tourig Consultants.  He was recognized for having served as a CWDMA director for more than 15 years and as president in 2005 and 2006.  He is credited for his efforts in the transition of the association from the previous management firm to the current Wood Manufacturing Council and for spearheading the current working group committee structures.