NFRC Completes Board Elections

December 8, 2009

The National Fenestration Rating Council recently elected one member to serve on its board of directors and re-elected two others. Each begins a three-year term.

An independent firm that managed the voting process reported the certified election results to the NFRC. Members elected Sneh Kumar of Traco as a first-time board member to fill a fenestration industry category seat.  Mike Thoman of Architectural Testing Inc. was re-elected to a second term to fill a laboratory category seat and Kerry Haglund of the Center for Sustainable Building Research was voted to for a second time to fill a general interest category seat.

“NFRC is proud that our members continue to demonstrate their dedication to the organization by participating in the board election process,” said Jim Benney, NFRC’s executive director. “We’re pleased to welcome a first-time board member and to retain the services of two current Board members.”

Additionally, NFRC announced its 2010 board of directors executive committee:

  • Chair: Joe Hayden, Pella Corp.
  • Vice Chair: Steve Strawn, Jeld-Wen Inc.
  • Treasurer: Kerry Haglund, Center for Sustainable Building Research
  • Secretary: Steve Farrar, Guardian Industries Corp.
  • Ombudsman: Jim Krahn, Marvin Windows & Doors

The executive committee will turn its attention to several priorities for 2010, including the successful deployment of the Component Modeling Approach program for rating commercial products and the development of a fair, accurate, and credible rating program for fenestration attachments, officials note. In addition, the executive committee will focus on the roll-out of the requirement for insulating glass unit certification. In July 2010, IG units used in NFRC-certified and -labeled products must be certified by a third-party insulating glass certification program prior to those products obtaining NFRC certification authorization.