WDMA Elects New Officers

March 18, 2010

The Window and Door Manufacturers Association installed a new leasdership team at its spring meeting and legislative conference in Washington, D.C., this week.  Stephen Sisson of Karona Inc. was elected the association's new chairman by the WDMA board of directors, replacing outgoing Chairman Steve Tourek of Marvin Windows & Doors.

"I look forward to serving as WMDA chairman and continuing to strengthen the legislative, regulatory, code and total product performance efforts of the association," says Sisson.  "We certainly have a number of challenges before us with the current state of the economy and our industry.  I believe WDMA has served the industry well through some of the most difficult times in our history and we will continue to focus on our strengths in the coming year and continue the tradition of being a strong voice and advocate for the industry."

Sisson serves as vice president and general manager of Karona, which is a manufacturer of custom architectural doors based in Grand Rapids, Mich.  Karona, named after Sisson's sisters Karin and Rona, is a family-owned business that began in 1980 with 10 employees.  It has expanded to a 100,000 square foot facility on 80 acres with 150 employees in its current Grand Rapids location.

"I'm excited to have Steve take the reins of WDMA as chairman. His depth of knowledge about the issues facing the industry coupled with his passion for the business will be an incredible asset for the association as we move WDMA to the next level during this critical economic time for the window, door and skylight industry," says Michael O'Brien, WDMA executive vice president. "I also want to acknowledge the key role that Steve Tourek played over the past year in moving the association forward and for his strong leadership and commitment to WDMA. We could not have gotten to this point without his steady hand and vision for the association."

In addition to Sisson, the other members of the 2010-2011 WDMA executive committee are:

  • Vice Chair, Window Division: Elaine Sagers, Pella Corp., Pella, Ia.
  • Vice Chair, Door Division: Jerry Oleshansky, Therma-Tru Doors, Maumee, Ohio
  • Treasurer: Ken Moody, VKR Business Development, Eagan, Minn.
  • Immediate Past Chair: Steve Tourek, Marvin Windows & Doors, St. Paul, Minn.
  • Supplier Representative: Tom Kaiser, Cardinal Glass Industries, Eden Prairie, Minn.