Special Thanks to the Judges - Crystal Achievement Awards 2009

Crystal Achievement Awards 2008 logo


The following window and door executives, representing suppliers, distributors, dealers and manufacturers, served as judges in the technology categories for the 2009 Crystal Achievement Awards. Window & Door would like to thank them for the time and effort they invested to make these awards representative of the industry's best. 

Cristen Baca
Simonton Windows
Ken Barman
Viwintech Windows & Doors
Michael Biffl
Stürtz Machinery
Dave Byers
LB Plastics Inc.
Jeff Crowder
Harnser Solutions Inc.
Ron Crowl
FeneTech Inc.
John Eagleton
Endura Products
Jessica Erdman
Erdman Automation Corp.
Sol Goldenburg
Magic Window

Henry Hay
Muhler Inc.

Craig Heinberg
Ashland Hardware Systems
Greg Irving
Soft-Lite LLC

Larry Johnson
Edgetech I.G.

Rudy Kessler
Winkhaus North America Inc.
Matt Kottke
Truth Hardware
Doug Leavitt
Four-Jaks Inc.
Todd Metz
Timeline Vinyl Windows
Edward San Juan
E.F. San Juan Inc.
Tyson Schwartz
Gorell Windows & Doors
Michael Sugrue
Winchester Industries


The following manufacturing executives, representing companies that previously were honored with an award for Most Innovative Plant, served as judges in the manufacturing categories for the 2008 Crystal Achievement Awards. Window & Door is grateful that these recognized innovators offered their time and expertise to help us select the winners in the most innovative plant and machinery categories.

Steve Chen
Crystal Window
& Door Systems
Greg Irving
Soft Lite LLC
Keith Koenig
Kolbe & Kolbe Millwork
Paul Kreutner
Golden Windows Ltd.
Terry Rex
BFRich Windows & Doors



The following marketing and PR executives served as judges in the marketring categories for the 2009 Crystal Achievement Awards. Window & Door is grateful that these recognized innovators offered their time and expertise to help us select the winners in the most innovative marketing program, product literature and Web site categories.

Peter Allen
Four Seasons Solar Products LLC
Lynn Angle
ProVia Door
Amy Lewis
Renown Marketing Communications
Kevin Morton
Golden Windows Ltd.
Kathy Ziprik
Ziprik Consulting


The Fine Print–How the Winners are Selected

To truly determine the industry's most innovative products, companies, organizations and technologies, Window & Door gathers a broad range of input for our Cyrstal Achievement Program.  To do this, we solicit a wide range of manufacturers, dealers, distributors, suppliers and others, representing all segments of the industry, to serve as judges.

We also invite previous winners, recognized innovators themselves, to vote on these awards.  Executives involved in the wood, vinyl, aluminum, fiberglass, steel and composites segments of the industry, as well as suppliers of glass and glazing products, hardware, software and equipment, participate.  We have judges involved primarily in windows and patio doors, as well as representatives from the entry door business. 

Each judge receives a package of nominatons, submitted by magazine readers and others, and is anked to rank the nominees in each category they choose to judge.  For our manufacturing and marketing categories, we use smaller panels of judges, which allows us to provide them with sample materials and/or more detailed information. 

Judges cannot vote for their own companies.  Winners are chosen based on cumulative rankings of the judges.

Judge's Comment:

“Each year, I have every intention of doing this and seem to get sidetracked and never get to it. Well, I have finally participated and it has been a great exercise that forces one to look at the evolution of our industry, as well as reward the proactive companies within the fenestration industry with recognition.”


Window & Door wants to make the Crystal Achievement Awards truly represent the industry's best, and each year we look to gather as much industry input as possible.  Participating as a judge can be a rewarding experience, so if you are interested in judging next year's program, contact Christina Lewellen at clewellen@glass.org.